John B
I would like to emphasise before I start that this topic is not a complaint. I am relatively new to Aston ownership, just over 18 months, and I have entered my 1999 Stratstone DB 7 Volante into the last 3 concours (Pride of Ownership class) to not only show the car but to learn more about Aston ownership etc. At Blenheim I scored 56 points and learnt a tremendous amount about preparing the car, at Chatsworth I scored 71 points despite leaving personal Items in the car and forgetting the handbook and service history. I took great care in preparing the car for the concours at Althorp including having some bodywork repairs over the winter i.e removing minor dents in the doors etc, so I was a little disappointed to only score 67 points. I do not believe the car is currently good enough to win or come in any of the minor places but I am now confused as to what I need to do to improve m score which is my current aim. I noticed on one of threads that the entrant had taken a photo of the judges report. I did not get any direct comments on the day so I rally want to know how I can find out what I need to improve on for next time.
Looking forward to whatever guidance anyone can give.
John Biggs
Quote 0 0
MPD
Hello John
Thanks for your comments. I hope that I am able to assist.
Although I run a Concours Judges Training Workshop once a year, in an attempt to streamline the marking system for originality, judges do have different standards of scoring cleanliness. We must remember that the scoring system is only a means to an end and that your recent score cannot be considered a step backwards in the preparation of your car.
I first met you and saw your car at Blenheim Palace 2010 when I was accompanying HRH Princess Michael on a tour of the display.  She actually commented that she thought your car was the finest there and you may recall her asking me to take a photograph of her, standing next to your car, using her iPhone!